Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Terrible 2's...days! ;)


So today was much like most Tuesdays. Rich and I don't usually go into work till noon on Tuesdays, so we relax a little in the morning, and then take Dylan over to my mom's, and then go to work :). So as usual we got up, and Rich went to get Dylan out of his crib to come into our room for morning snuggles, and Disney chanel. Although this time instead of him bringing him back in the room...I hear "Oh my gosh! Dylan threw up EVERYWHERE!!!" I thought he was joking, cause I checked on him earlier that morning and I didn't see anything, but I guess since I didn't get closer to the crib I didn't see it...or smell it. Anyhow, I got outa bed, went in the room. :( Sure enough...puke everywhere. I know it's gross to talk about, but as a mom, and other moms, you have to understand it's more heartbreaking to see your soggy puked covered 2 year old standing there with tears in his eyes staring at you with his whole crib, sheets, favorite blanket, and stuffed animal covered in last nights dinner. Now, let me tell you, before I had kids, I woulda probebly gagged and ran to the bathroom myself. But when your a mom, that all comes to a stop, and you put that aside. (Yes even pregnant) And what do you do? You deal with it! They come first.

My husband got him outa his PJ's, and sent him into the bathroom where I already had a bubble bath running for him. I put him in the tub, and washed his hair and all the mess off his poor little body. Usually Dylan LOVES bathtime. He even looked a little pleased that he got to wake up to one that morning. But once i started pooring water on his head, and washing him up, He was all tears again. Clearly not wanting to be touched or messed with, and this wasn't the bath he expected with his toy boats, and colored body soap paints.

Anyhow, I made things quick, and got my baby all cleaned up, and dressed very comphy for the day, and made him a sippy cup of water/apple juice.

I wondered if he had the flu, or if he had a bad reaction to the mixture of not so healthy foods from the day before.

He was acting ok. Playing with his Little People toys, watching Blues clues, and bouncing around as usual. Anyhow, I figured if my mom didn't mind, I would still bring him over to her place and go to work. After all he was acting normal, and I was PRETTY SURE this was just a bad reaction to last nights Pizza. *Dylan just recently discovered he likes pizza so we let him have a small slice now when we order out...but I know from the heavy oils and such, it may be alot for his small tummy.*

So off we go, Rich, myself, and Dylan in the Land Rover on our way to my mom's so we could go work. Now, on a side note, let me explain, any signs of my child being sick at all would usually result in me calling in FOR SURE. But things have been tuff. Rich can't call in, it's end of month and he has inventory at work. But we are REALLY broke right now cause of our So.Cal Vacation,and I was counting on today's pay to register our other car ASAP! I really really really didn't want to skip on work. But YES to other moms, Dylan is Number 1 always and forever, but I don't think of my mom as leaving him with a sitter. She's my mom, she raised me, she's grandma, she's his safe zone. So I did feel ok letting him go to her house today. I knew they would just stay home anyhow, and he could nap and take it easy in her comphy home...and like I said, I wasn't convinced he was sick, just had alot of junkfood..and Dylan does NOT get alot of junkfood. So on rare days when his other grandma spoils him on their day, sometimes he gets an upset tummy.

Anyhow, so were goin down 50 in the car, and I hear Dylan start to gag, of course I panick and yell "Pull over!". Right then Dylan projects up all of his Apple Juice :(. Covering himself, and the carseat in a sticky mess of Applce Juice and a childrens chewable vitamin (I would have to say the combo was a little gross) haha. Anyhow, Rich pulls over, I wipe him and the car seat down with Baby wipes *Thank god for those!* and I get on my cell to call my mom. Not TOTALY convinced at this point that he's not really sick.

On the phone all of my pregnancy and mom emotions started build up in my stomach, and tears begain to fill my eyes. I was SO overhwelmed!!!! I started to kinda cry a little but I choked it back and explained to my mom that he AGAIN puked, not as bad this time but enough to worry me and I wasn't sure what to do. We were both due at work in 15 minutes and were half way through town with crying Dylan in the back. My mom somehow has this very comforting "Mom" voice, and I started to feel better. She said "I remember those days, it's tuff, but you have to decide what you want to do." So we talkd a little bit, and we both decided that the best thing to do to get Rich to work on time was to meet her up at the salon and she would take Dylan back to her house for some TLC and a good nap. If he woke up still sick, or if things got worse and he cried for me, she would bring him back and I could go home, but to at least try to let him rest at her place and get some hours in at work. I felt alot better, and again like I said, she's not a sitter, she's mommy, and Dylan loves her and her home ALOT.

For the rest of the drive, I was like "god I'm just overhwlmed right now, I just feel like torn like bad mom good mom sometimes, and work never comes before Dylan but I'm not sure what to do at times like this when the bills pile up". Anyhow when we got to work, Dylan was much better, he was acting a little crabby, but not too bad at all. So my mom took him home and so far everything is A-OK!!! *crosses fingers*

I know every mom has those days, those stories, those times...it's just apart of motherhood. Lately, it seems like I've really been trying to find a good balance between motherhood and myself. I love every second of my life as a mother and a wife. But it's hard to balance life outside of that sometimes, and then knowing I'm adding one more child to my scedual is going to provide even more of a challenge. Sometimes its hard to be a mom, have a job, have a life, let alone hobbies...and still find one on one time with your husband. I wouldn't trade any of it for the world, but days like today is when I feel like all the things I had balanced on my little life platter come crashing down...as weird as it can sound. Right now I'm selling Avon for spare money, and working at the salon a few days a week when Rich is home or someone I truely trust can sit for Dylan. But even those few short hours away can prove to be a strugle. It's a strugle that sometimes is really all a mothers. I know right off the bat when Dylan is sick, it's me who has to miss work. It can't be Rich cause his job is less flexable. So trying to squeeze a personal life and me time into that sometimes is only more of a struggle, and sometimes gets pushed aside, although I know it's much needed!!!


Anyhow, Just thought I'de share the adventure today haha ;) Dylan is doing much better, and hopefully in nap land by now. I hope everyone else is having a great day too!!!!

Photobucket

Monday, September 29, 2008

Meet The Heffs....Hello!

Photobucket Hey Everyone! Chandelle here! I recently have been reading allot of people's really awesome family blogs, and it's inspired me to make one for us Heffs! Lately we haven't been able to see and talk to the ones we love and miss the most, so something like this is a great way to share with everyone our up-dates and happenings...and on that note, I would love to hear what YOU people have been up to as well ;)! A lot has been going on lately with us Heff's, and if anything It'll just feel good for us to write it down in a blogger and keep to look back on sometime. So here we go....

As most of you know, I'm pregnant with baby number 2! Due March 1st of 2009! I'm about 4 months (18 weeks and 2 days to be exact) along! I should find out what the gender of the baby is with in 2 weeks! I don't really care either way if it's a girl or a boy. I just hope for healthy, and of course a good pregnancy and birth. Our oldest child Dylan, who is turning 2 in about 3 weeks, has no idea what being a big brother means, or what's about to join our family...but he seems to understand there is a baby in my tummy...but most likely no idea that it's going to come out and join us Heffs in our many adventures someday!

With 5 more months or so to go before the baby, I'm just enjoying my one on one time with my son Dylan, and REALLY enjoying the fall and Holidays that are coming up!

Fall is by far my "Happy time" of year. I love love love it!!! It's the time of year I actually wish lasted longer. I love how the leaves on the tree's change, the fall smells like pumpkin, apple, and rain. Halloween has always been my favorite Holiday and with children, I can't even Begin to express how much MORE fun it is! It's like reliving all the things you loved from your childhood all over again. I'm so excited to carve pumpkins with my little boy, make some pies, and take him trick or treating in our new neighborhood! He's going to be 2 on the 20th of October, and he's just now starting to really understand things.

Last night we went to Walmart on our way home from the Genoa Candydance, and I got him his new trick or treat pumpkin bucket, and a new pumpkin flashlight for Halloween night. When we got home, his grandma (Rich's mom) and I taught him how to go from door to door in our house knocking and saying trick or treat, then we would put candy corn in his bucket. It was SO cute! The first couple of times he had no idea what to do, he would run up to my bedroom door, hold up his bucket, and I would hear his grandma on the other side going "knock Dylan, knock, say trick or treat" so he would knock, then I would open the door and he would smile and run off. By the the third time he ran up to the door, knocked, yelled "Treaty treat!" and I opened it laughing and gave him candy corn in his new bucket. He's getting it! LOL It was really funny, and fun to see him learning about this holiday.

He's being a Lion this year, we've let him try on the costume twice now and walk around a bit. It's ADORABLE. I'm teaching him to Roar ;). It fits like a glove! It was actually a keepsake hand me down from his oldest cousin Sky. I remember going with my mom when she was 2 years old to Target and picking out her costume and how adorable she looked that Halloween in it. My brother Sky held onto it all this time, and when I got pregnant with Dylan he let me have it for Dylan. I had to wait 2 years before he could finally wear it, but it was well worth it, and it's still as cute as ever in new condition! Dylan was born 11 days before Halloween 2 years ago, and we haven't missed one year yet of dressing up our little fall pumpkin baby. At just 11 days old, we put him in a newborn bumble bee costume. He was so tiny as a matter of fact, I had to ask my Aunte Lydia to sew it up to preemie size for me so he would fit! It came out ADORABLE!!! Last year he was Winnie the Pooh dressed as a pumpkin (You know how much I love Disney and fall so that costume was right up my ally!).

So this year will be Dylan's 3rd Halloween, and tradition has usually had it that we spend Halloween with my Cousins Tori and Joe, and their 2 kids Ashlan and this year BABY LOGAN! This will be my 6 month old nephews very first Halloween, and I'm looking very forward to seeing what creative outfit my cousin comes up with this year for his first "Spooktacular" Halloween! We usually take the kids trick or treating around Tori and I's old neighborhood, but last year we realized with Tahoe's growing tourist population, our old neighborhood had ALOT of the homes turned into vacation homes that were empty and the decorated houses giving out candy that were semi small children friendly were kinda far and few between. By the end of the night we had a lot of cold, tired children (the walk can be a bit tiring for the little ones, as it's a lot of up hill). So this year we talked about trying out Rich and I's new neighborhood, that contains a lot of conectiong well lit up, flat streets (not to mention I'm a few blocks from the lake front homes who I heard give out GREAT LOOT! :)! Afterwards one of my besties Shauna is having her first annual Trim Family Halloween Party! I'm so excited to see what she's got brewing for her party, she's like the ultimate party planning hostess who goes above and beyond when entertaining company (I thought I was the domestic diva, but you haven't met her yet LOL). Anyhow, It'll be a great year I hope, and I'm looking forward also go getting out my decorations from storage *hint hint to my husband* and getting started on the fall feeling!

Anyhow, theres my big welcome to my page rant, Keep checking back, I hope to post some cool details about our family vacation last week! That should be enough for now, So I'm guna say goodbye and have a great day!