Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Boys Boys Boys! It's a boy!

Hello everyone! I haven't posted anything in a while, but for good reason. We have been so busy with SO many important things!

Its a boy Pictures, Images and Photos

First and formost, and most of you wondered and might have heard already, we are having a boy!!!! The ultra-sound in reno went exceptionaly well, and showed that we were to expect another little boy in early March. Everything was healthy and coming along great!

We hoped for healthy above all, and didn't really have a gender selection, so hearing we were having a boy was a thrill for us Heffelfingers. But most of all, we're most excited that Dylan is going to have a little brother! I know the bond between brothers can be so awesome! I'm glad he's going to experiance that :)

We've been so busy preparing for Dylan's 2nd birthday, Halloween, and a few other Fall things we're trying to squeeze into this busy month.

Dylan turned 2 years old yesterday (monday the 20th) and we had a small family spagetti dinner at home. Rich's mom got a little cake and we let him blow out candles, and open a few of his presents and have cake! We had a blast!!! Dylan was so happy to have us singing Happy Birthday to him. He's at an age were he's finally starting to get things like that. He sang along with us at the end going "Toooo YOOOUUUU" and knew how to blow out the candles himself (with a little help from daddy ;) Rich got him a replica of our new Chevy Silverado in the toy version. It was ADORABLE. He goes "Truck Truck!" His grandma got him some puzzles, a Mr.Potato-head transformer style, and some new socks, and Mommy got him a McDonalds play set w/ a talking cash register and play food and money. HE LOVED THAT ONE! He played with all his new toys for hours, and stayed up an hour later then usual to do so (not to mention the sugar rush from his little cake HAHA). We'll be having his real big party with his little friends and cousins this weekend. It's a blues clues party!
But of course in our family we have one party with just the small household, and a big party with everyone else later! :) I'll be making a home-made cake, dinner for everyone and entertaining a room full of babies and toddlers LOL sounds fun ha? Should be.
happy birthday Pictures, Images and Photos
As I mentioned above, we got ourselves a new truck. It's a lifted Chevy Silverado 2500. It's BEAUTIFUL! We find ourselves more and more needing a truck to move things etc. So when Rich found a great deal on one up here at the Lake, we went ahead and traded in the old Durango. My dad got the Durango when I was 17, and it's been the best car I've ever had! It was hard to see it go, but as my family grows, and things change and it got older, it was time. I hope it makes some other family just as happy someday! This also means I get the Land Rover...so now I'm even more set!


That's about the best of the best around here this week. I'll try to be on more now that things SHOULD calm down...but I can't promise anything till after Halloween c comes and goes. Until then...

Love, From the Heffs!

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

I'm tired of mudslinging

Read it if you want to, take it how you will. I have the right to say how I feel since everyone else seems to do the same with no fear of who they might offend or bother...

In the past few months, drawing closer and closer to the Election, I've noticed that people's political views are causing a lot of fighting and hurt where there should be none, especially at a time like this. Mudslinging...I hate it! There's already enough on TV to make me want to stop watching. People blame one political party, leader, or view on unfortunate things happening to our nation.



There seems to be a fine line between the choice to vote, and the pressure to vote when it comes to how people feel.

Why call it the right to vote if each political party makes it seem as though there really is only ONE choice?

It seems a lot of harsh and offending things can be said about both parties, and a lack of respect for other peoples views and choices is taking place where it should not.



I respect and value the freedom of speech, right to chose, vote, and make a difference in our Nation. What I do not respect is the lack of understanding and respect itself for other fellow Americans strictly for one thing, not thinking the same.



No one person or party is right here, and I think it's gotten WAY out of hand. It really makes me lose a lot of respect for us as Americans if we can't respect and let be other peoples choices, even if they are nothing like our own. You don't have to agree...but that doesn't make you right either.



I have always said, Don't judge, for you are not me, and I am not you, your not living my life, and I'm not living yours. You never understand someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...even then so, you really don't know the core of ones life. Let them make their choice and be happy they used their right to chose, cause that's really what it's all about.



Would you judge a friend for wearing a different color then your favorite color? Reading a different novel then your reading? Eating at a different restaurant then your favorite? No. Of course not, cause were free to make choices and experience anything we feel is best for us as a person.



The right to vote as an American is one of the greatest rights we have, so why take that right and criticize and argue with someone simply because they don't feel the same as you do? In experience I have found that only pushes them FURTHER away from your opinion, and closer to their own. Not many people like being told what to do. You have to be 18 to vote, so I assume we're all adults here.



Posting harsh things about other people's values, and choices doesn't make them see your side, it only offends them and builds a wall between them and yourself, thus making your point unheard.



Letting political outlooks come between friendships and relationships is NOT the point of us joining together as a Nation and making a difference...if we were meant to fight and be at war with one another, we wouldn't be Americans would we?

Over the years I've made the choice to keep my political and religious outlooks to myself. I do not discuss them openly, and I don't offer any information if I'm not asked directly, and I chose to ignore ALL Bashing of political parties on both sides, taking in only the facts, and I don't need a rude rant or smash session to open my eyes to what I have always felt was right. I have my choices, I know exactly who I'm voting for, I know what I want to see happen, and I don't care what anyone else thinks, and I know they certainly don't care what I think either if they don't agree with me.



I'm not CNN, FOX, or NBC news, and neither are you or your friends. We all have a newspaper, Internet, and TV, we know the facts, if you care enough you can research them yourself. If you want to know something, most information is available to you. Things your peers are posting isn't something some top secret FBI agent or white house spy has sent them, their getting their sources from all the same places you can get your info from too. If this is election is so important to you, then do your homework, study up, educate yourself. Don't let others push you in one direction or another, because you are not them, and they are not you.



So be wise and do the homework yourself, think for yourself, and chose for yourself. But most of all respect yourself, and respect others, there's already a big enough war going on, there's no need to bring it into your friendships.

Monday, October 6, 2008

Ocotber...here I come!


Well, I know Ocotber is always a busy month at the Heffelfinger household every year, but this year it seemed to come crashing in full speed ahead, no breaks, slow-down not an option. I think I like it? But I have to admit, a fast pace like this, and I'm guna make myself sick with exaustion ;)...almost did last week!

Every year my month of October is pretty much jam-packed with tons of things to do! With Dylan's birthday, Ocotberfest, Firefest, Fall festivals, Apple-hill, Dylan's birthday, close friend's birthdays, Halloween and all the many parties and build ups to that...there's usualy NEVER a free weekend on my calender, and if there is, I usually spend a day decorating my house for Halloween or am down in Carson getting birthday gifts and supplies for my lil' ones party. I enjoy each and every minute of it, but being pregnant, I forgot it really means i have to take some time to slow down once in a while, and not over do it! (ya right ;)

This year was no different but I guess I just wasn't aware of how much was going on, then adding Dr appointments for myself, and Dylan on top of it,and working TONS of overtime at my part-time job, bring it to almost full time this week, just made it seem a little more crazy!

Although I must say, when I'm in my car, headed down high-way fifty, and the frost covers the cars around me, the leaves on the trees are turning to yellow and orange, and I see more and more houses and buisness' decorating for Halloween, it does remind me of how great this time of year is!!! Everyone seems to find something they love about the fall and Halloween, weather it's the Holidays, football, or the love of pumpkin pie...it seems to kinda have a special calling to almost everyone I know (especially the lil' ones).

This weekend, was ALOT of fun, but first I should start off by mentioning, that the few days before that were...not as fun ;)! Rich came home Thursday with a HORRIBLE flu. It was so bad he was in bed all day, with me taking care of Dylan all day, and night, and trying to ignore the fact that I too, felt really strange and out of sorts. We spent the day out on the sofa watching movies, listening to the rain, and taking good care of Daddy! :) Then Friday, I decided we had been cooped up long enough and I got us dressed, and Rich's mom and I took Dylan out and about and to McDonalds to play in the Play area to burn off some steam. He hadn't been napping very well at all the last few days, and I knew it was becuase due to the weather he had spent way too much time inside, and wasn't getting enough stimulation and exercise. So we let him play in that big play thing with tubes, slides etc for a good hour! When he finally come down the slide rubbing his eyes and leaning on mommy for a rest, I knew he got his fix! After 2 days of Rich's flu, he was finally feeling ALOT better :) So that night after puting Dylan to bed early after his no-nap very fun day...Rich finally got his apitite back and was CRAVING like no other, fresh baked chocolate chip cookies hot from the oven...and that's ALL he could talk about for hours. So finally I went to Raley's, got the stuff to make the cookies, and came home and made a good 4 dozen cookies of all kinds LOL! The things us wives do for our husbands (although everyone else at home didn't seem to mind the treats either ;)!

The next day was fantastic, it was rainy and really cold but it didn't stop us from doing our yearly tradition of Oktoberfest! This year Rich had to work, and couldn't take any more time off due to being sick the last few days. So I got Dylan bundled up, and headed down to Camp Rich with my dad, my little brother Steele, and Katy! We met my cousin Tori, her mom (my aunt), my neice Ashlan, and nephew logan there, along with my friends Shauna and Jordan and their 2 kids Deekon and Nevaeh. We walked around as usual, let the kids do their thing in the bounce house etc...but there wasn't too much for the lil' ones to do for long, so we cut it short this year after picking out pumpkins, and headed over to the Airport for Firefest. That was SO MUCH FUN!!! It had more kid friendly things for the kids (I highly recomend it!)!!! Dylan sat in a fire-truck, got to pet the cheif's puppy, chased around the bomb squad robot...yelling "Back, NO! DOWN!" LMAO it was hillarious! The older kids got to dress up in the firefighter coats and hats and squirt real houses at highway cones, buckets, and chairs to knock them down as targets. They had Sparky the mascot (a dalmation with fire-gear on) walking around, a real helicopter the kids could go sit in and pretend to fly, other fun games, a DJ, BBQ, meet the fire-fighters from aroundt he lake, and all sorts of trucks to go in and explore. The kids had a blast, but we got there late, as it was closing and weather had everyone kinda done for the day, so next year were guna go earlier for sure! Anyhow, that night we took it easy, and got some extra rest. The next day was my good friend Trish's daughter's 4th Birthday party down in the vally! It was a Wizard of Oz theme, and the kids dressed as their favorite charactors from the movie. I dressed Dylan up in his Lion outfit and it was SOOO CUTE!

Afterwards we did some stuff down in the vally, cosco, walmart, etc...the usual stuff you do when you get a chance to shop off the hill ;)! By the time we got home, unloaded the car, fed Dylan, put him to bed, had dinner, i was so worn out I just crashed hard and slept GREAT! I know this is not out of the ordinary for most days or people, but when your pregnant, and chasing a 2 year old around, and only had your husband around 1 out of six days in a week to help, it all adds up. Now I'm back at work for my long week ahead of over-time (thats alot when your used to being home w/ the kiddo!)...but like I said, it is SOOOO WORTH IT! Especialy to just be around all the fall events Tahoe has to offer. Next weekend...Apple Hill I Hope!!!

Hope everyone is having a great week!!!!

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Feelin' good, feelin happy!

HELLO HELLO! First of all, Dylan is feeling much better! My mom said he slept for almost 4 hours at her house, and woke up with a healthy apatite and very cheery and normal! YAY!!! He seems in better spirits today, and kept down his breakfast and juice. :) He's a little warm, but hey, progress is progress, and I don't feel like I have to fallow him around with a Safeway bag and wash rag. ;)!

Tonight I'm going to my best friend Katy's house for a Pampered Chef Party! I'm really excited, I've never been to one, but I hear their always a lot of fun! Selling Passion Parties products and Avon, I have a general idea of how these things work, but It's always fun to go to new ones. I'm such a sucker for things I can't find in stores too haha! But most of all, I'm kinda of just looking forward to some "Me" time. Time to just chill with out the kiddo (no offence Dylan! Mommy loves you) and just relax with my friends and hear about cool stuff for one of my favorite hobbies, COOKING! Plus, a bonus is, my dad has offered to watch Dylan for the evening so I can go, and Rich can work. Dylan is REALLY looking forward to that, I said "Going to see Papa" and now he goes "Mommy, go Bye bye! Papa!!!". They haven't spent much time together this past month between the opening of his new Crossfit Gym, and my vacations and working. So it works out for everyone!



I'm STILL in full Fall fest mode, and have spent the last few days doing things that prepare for Halloween and fallowing Holidays! Rich and I were shopping for Halloween costumes this morning online for a while, no big ideas yet, but hopefully something will come up. I decorated my entire myspace like a Haunted Mansion LOL...and Rich is getting my Halloween goodies out of storage sometime this week! WAHOO!

Well, today isn't one of my long blogs, and I'm sure you're all very relieved! Haha ;)! But I hope you are all having a great mid-week!

*Hugs* from the Heffs!

Take Care!