
Well, I know Ocotber is always a busy month at the Heffelfinger household every year, but this year it seemed to come crashing in full speed ahead, no breaks, slow-down not an option. I think I like it? But I have to admit, a fast pace like this, and I'm guna make myself sick with exaustion ;)...almost did last week!
Every year my month of October is pretty much jam-packed with tons of things to do! With Dylan's birthday, Ocotberfest, Firefest, Fall festivals, Apple-hill, Dylan's birthday, close friend's birthdays, Halloween and all the many parties and build ups to that...there's usualy NEVER a free weekend on my calender, and if there is, I usually spend a day decorating my house for Halloween or am down in Carson getting birthday gifts and supplies for my lil' ones party. I enjoy each and every minute of it, but being pregnant, I forgot it really means i have to take some time to slow down once in a while, and not over do it! (ya right ;)
This year was no different but I guess I just wasn't aware of how much was going on, then adding Dr appointments for myself, and Dylan on top of it,and working TONS of overtime at my part-time job, bring it to almost full time this week, just made it seem a little more crazy!
Although I must say, when I'm in my car, headed down high-way fifty, and the frost covers the cars around me, the leaves on the trees are turning to yellow and orange, and I see more and more houses and buisness' decorating for Halloween, it does remind me of how great this time of year is!!! Everyone seems to find something they love about the fall and Halloween, weather it's the Holidays, football, or the love of pumpkin pie...it seems to kinda have a special calling to almost everyone I know (especially the lil' ones).
This weekend, was ALOT of fun, but first I should start off by mentioning, that the few days before that were...not as fun ;)! Rich came home Thursday with a HORRIBLE flu. It was so bad he was in bed all day, with me taking care of Dylan all day, and night, and trying to ignore the fact that I too, felt really strange and out of sorts. We spent the day out on the sofa watching movies, listening to the rain, and taking good care of Daddy! :) Then Friday, I decided we had been cooped up long enough and I got us dressed, and Rich's mom and I took Dylan out and about and to McDonalds to play in the Play area to burn off some steam. He hadn't been napping very well at all the last few days, and I knew it was becuase due to the weather he had spent way too much time inside, and wasn't getting enough stimulation and exercise. So we let him play in that big play thing with tubes, slides etc for a good hour! When he finally come down the slide rubbing his eyes and leaning on mommy for a rest, I knew he got his fix! After 2 days of Rich's flu, he was finally feeling ALOT better :) So that night after puting Dylan to bed early after his no-nap very fun day...Rich finally got his apitite back and was CRAVING like no other, fresh baked chocolate chip cookies hot from the oven...and that's ALL he could talk about for hours. So finally I went to Raley's, got the stuff to make the cookies, and came home and made a good 4 dozen cookies of all kinds LOL! The things us wives do for our husbands (although everyone else at home didn't seem to mind the treats either ;)!
The next day was fantastic, it was rainy and really cold but it didn't stop us from doing our yearly tradition of Oktoberfest! This year Rich had to work, and couldn't take any more time off due to being sick the last few days. So I got Dylan bundled up, and headed down to Camp Rich with my dad, my little brother Steele, and Katy! We met my cousin Tori, her mom (my aunt), my neice Ashlan, and nephew logan there, along with my friends Shauna and Jordan and their 2 kids Deekon and Nevaeh. We walked around as usual, let the kids do their thing in the bounce house etc...but there wasn't too much for the lil' ones to do for long, so we cut it short this year after picking out pumpkins, and headed over to the Airport for Firefest. That was SO MUCH FUN!!! It had more kid friendly things for the kids (I highly recomend it!)!!! Dylan sat in a fire-truck, got to pet the cheif's puppy, chased around the bomb squad robot...yelling "Back, NO! DOWN!" LMAO it was hillarious! The older kids got to dress up in the firefighter coats and hats and squirt real houses at highway cones, buckets, and chairs to knock them down as targets. They had Sparky the mascot (a dalmation with fire-gear on) walking around, a real helicopter the kids could go sit in and pretend to fly, other fun games, a DJ, BBQ, meet the fire-fighters from aroundt he lake, and all sorts of trucks to go in and explore. The kids had a blast, but we got there late, as it was closing and weather had everyone kinda done for the day, so next year were guna go earlier for sure! Anyhow, that night we took it easy, and got some extra rest. The next day was my good friend Trish's daughter's 4th Birthday party down in the vally! It was a Wizard of Oz theme, and the kids dressed as their favorite charactors from the movie. I dressed Dylan up in his Lion outfit and it was SOOO CUTE!

Afterwards we did some stuff down in the vally, cosco, walmart, etc...the usual stuff you do when you get a chance to shop off the hill ;)! By the time we got home, unloaded the car, fed Dylan, put him to bed, had dinner, i was so worn out I just crashed hard and slept GREAT! I know this is not out of the ordinary for most days or people, but when your pregnant, and chasing a 2 year old around, and only had your husband around 1 out of six days in a week to help, it all adds up. Now I'm back at work for my long week ahead of over-time (thats alot when your used to being home w/ the kiddo!)...but like I said, it is SOOOO WORTH IT! Especialy to just be around all the fall events Tahoe has to offer. Next weekend...Apple Hill I Hope!!!

Hope everyone is having a great week!!!!

1 comment:
your so cute !! and damn busy girl!! and i just sent you a thing about coming down here for Harvest Fest..lol.. I don't think you'll be making it!! I love October..Especially coming out of a WAY to hot summer down here! Are you guys all dressing up for Halloween this year?
Post a Comment