
So today was much like most Tuesdays. Rich and I don't usually go into work till noon on Tuesdays, so we relax a little in the morning, and then take Dylan over to my mom's, and then go to work :). So as usual we got up, and Rich went to get Dylan out of his crib to come into our room for morning snuggles, and Disney chanel. Although this time instead of him bringing him back in the room...I hear "Oh my gosh! Dylan threw up EVERYWHERE!!!" I thought he was joking, cause I checked on him earlier that morning and I didn't see anything, but I guess since I didn't get closer to the crib I didn't see it...or smell it. Anyhow, I got outa bed, went in the room. :( Sure enough...puke everywhere. I know it's gross to talk about, but as a mom, and other moms, you have to understand it's more heartbreaking to see your soggy puked covered 2 year old standing there with tears in his eyes staring at you with his whole crib, sheets, favorite blanket, and stuffed animal covered in last nights dinner. Now, let me tell you, before I had kids, I woulda probebly gagged and ran to the bathroom myself. But when your a mom, that all comes to a stop, and you put that aside. (Yes even pregnant) And what do you do? You deal with it! They come first.
My husband got him outa his PJ's, and sent him into the bathroom where I already had a bubble bath running for him. I put him in the tub, and washed his hair and all the mess off his poor little body. Usually Dylan LOVES bathtime. He even looked a little pleased that he got to wake up to one that morning. But once i started pooring water on his head, and washing him up, He was all tears again. Clearly not wanting to be touched or messed with, and this wasn't the bath he expected with his toy boats, and colored body soap paints.
Anyhow, I made things quick, and got my baby all cleaned up, and dressed very comphy for the day, and made him a sippy cup of water/apple juice.
I wondered if he had the flu, or if he had a bad reaction to the mixture of not so healthy foods from the day before.
He was acting ok. Playing with his Little People toys, watching Blues clues, and bouncing around as usual. Anyhow, I figured if my mom didn't mind, I would still bring him over to her place and go to work. After all he was acting normal, and I was PRETTY SURE this was just a bad reaction to last nights Pizza. *Dylan just recently discovered he likes pizza so we let him have a small slice now when we order out...but I know from the heavy oils and such, it may be alot for his small tummy.*
So off we go, Rich, myself, and Dylan in the Land Rover on our way to my mom's so we could go work. Now, on a side note, let me explain, any signs of my child being sick at all would usually result in me calling in FOR SURE. But things have been tuff. Rich can't call in, it's end of month and he has inventory at work. But we are REALLY broke right now cause of our So.Cal Vacation,and I was counting on today's pay to register our other car ASAP! I really really really didn't want to skip on work. But YES to other moms, Dylan is Number 1 always and forever, but I don't think of my mom as leaving him with a sitter. She's my mom, she raised me, she's grandma, she's his safe zone. So I did feel ok letting him go to her house today. I knew they would just stay home anyhow, and he could nap and take it easy in her comphy home...and like I said, I wasn't convinced he was sick, just had alot of junkfood..and Dylan does NOT get alot of junkfood. So on rare days when his other grandma spoils him on their day, sometimes he gets an upset tummy.
Anyhow, so were goin down 50 in the car, and I hear Dylan start to gag, of course I panick and yell "Pull over!". Right then Dylan projects up all of his Apple Juice :(. Covering himself, and the carseat in a sticky mess of Applce Juice and a childrens chewable vitamin (I would have to say the combo was a little gross) haha. Anyhow, Rich pulls over, I wipe him and the car seat down with Baby wipes *Thank god for those!* and I get on my cell to call my mom. Not TOTALY convinced at this point that he's not really sick.
On the phone all of my pregnancy and mom emotions started build up in my stomach, and tears begain to fill my eyes. I was SO overhwelmed!!!! I started to kinda cry a little but I choked it back and explained to my mom that he AGAIN puked, not as bad this time but enough to worry me and I wasn't sure what to do. We were both due at work in 15 minutes and were half way through town with crying Dylan in the back. My mom somehow has this very comforting "Mom" voice, and I started to feel better. She said "I remember those days, it's tuff, but you have to decide what you want to do." So we talkd a little bit, and we both decided that the best thing to do to get Rich to work on time was to meet her up at the salon and she would take Dylan back to her house for some TLC and a good nap. If he woke up still sick, or if things got worse and he cried for me, she would bring him back and I could go home, but to at least try to let him rest at her place and get some hours in at work. I felt alot better, and again like I said, she's not a sitter, she's mommy, and Dylan loves her and her home ALOT.
For the rest of the drive, I was like "god I'm just overhwlmed right now, I just feel like torn like bad mom good mom sometimes, and work never comes before Dylan but I'm not sure what to do at times like this when the bills pile up". Anyhow when we got to work, Dylan was much better, he was acting a little crabby, but not too bad at all. So my mom took him home and so far everything is A-OK!!! *crosses fingers*
I know every mom has those days, those stories, those times...it's just apart of motherhood. Lately, it seems like I've really been trying to find a good balance between motherhood and myself. I love every second of my life as a mother and a wife. But it's hard to balance life outside of that sometimes, and then knowing I'm adding one more child to my scedual is going to provide even more of a challenge. Sometimes its hard to be a mom, have a job, have a life, let alone hobbies...and still find one on one time with your husband. I wouldn't trade any of it for the world, but days like today is when I feel like all the things I had balanced on my little life platter come crashing down...as weird as it can sound. Right now I'm selling Avon for spare money, and working at the salon a few days a week when Rich is home or someone I truely trust can sit for Dylan. But even those few short hours away can prove to be a strugle. It's a strugle that sometimes is really all a mothers. I know right off the bat when Dylan is sick, it's me who has to miss work. It can't be Rich cause his job is less flexable. So trying to squeeze a personal life and me time into that sometimes is only more of a struggle, and sometimes gets pushed aside, although I know it's much needed!!!

Anyhow, Just thought I'de share the adventure today haha ;) Dylan is doing much better, and hopefully in nap land by now. I hope everyone else is having a great day too!!!!